Finally Getting Some Answers

One afternoon, on the deck of the beach house in North Carolina with the salty air blowing through my hair and the sun warming my back through my sweater, my genetic counselor tells me over the phone that the preliminary diagnosis is Turner Syndrome. Immediately, I feel fifty pounds lighter. Now I can research and inform myself. Now I had answers ready for when people ask questions.

This diagnosis also did something else for us. Now we knew the baby was a girl and we could name her. She could stop being “the fetus” or “the baby.” In the days before the first ultrasound, we had been throwing ideas around and we thought we had already settled on a name for a girl, but now it didn’t seem special enough.

My mother-in-law’s grandmother was named Luna Eugenia and I always loved how old-world and unique the name was. For some reason (God’s prompting?), this name came to my mind. And I was reminded of an image that I learned years ago.

Of course, I learned this from a fellow science teacher, but the image has stayed with me. The moon doesn’t actually have any light of its own. When it shines, it is just reflecting the light of the sun. When the moon is full, it is fully reflecting the sun’s light, but when it is not full, the Earth is casting a shadow on the moon. In the same way, a Christian should reflect the light of Christ and when we let the Earth and worldly things get in the way, it dims the light we are able to reflect.

Luna reminds us to be the moon. A full moon.

Patrick and I wanted to reflect Christ through this situation above all else. This is the platform that God has given us and He has a purpose for it in our lives.

Luna belongs to God first and if he chooses to let us take care of her for a time, we will rejoice. If He decides to take her away tomorrow, we will rejoice. In all things, we will rejoice because God’s will is good.

We rejoice today because not four hours ago, I got to hear my Luna’s heartbeat.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NIV)
16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

3 thoughts on “Finally Getting Some Answers

  1. Your blog is amazing ! This entry made me tear , just because you are a great example of Gods work. Thank you for the constant reminder to trust in him ❤

  2. I am just now able to read your blog. How blessed is Luna, as well as Bo and MJ, to have parents that have unwavering faith in our Lord and Savior. You are right that God’s will is perfect. I am encouraged and blessed to read this. You are all in my prayers and I excited to see God glorified as you take this journey. Thank you for being brave enough to share your journey with us and to show us, by example, how to be the moon. God bless you…..

Leave a Reply

