All in the Family

I had a house full of family today. My brother Joe, his wife Erica and their five month old Grace were here. Plus my dad and my brother Rico. Plus my sister Jes, her husband Ian and two month old Lolo. There is nothing that makes me feel happier than my family. Loving on their babies. Watching them love on my babies.

I have eight siblings. Six of whom are still living. And four of those siblings have a significant other who I love like a sibling. And they are all my best friends. I love and support them unconditionally, even if that means that I tell them they are being stupid and/or annoying. They know when I tell them things that they don’t want to hear, I am loving them.

We quote whole scenes from movies as part of everyday conversation and understand every nuance and hidden meaning behind using that particular scene instead of some other movie. We argue over who would beat who in a fight and get more excited about food than most anything else. We sing really (awesomely) bad music super loud and make mocking each other a competition akin to the Olympic Games.

And we were raised by the most incredible parents the world has ever known.

I mean, I know everyone says that about their parents, but I am not lying. Considering the loss that they have experienced, their unwavering faith and trust in the Lord has shaped me more than anything else.

When I was a little girl, I was terrified of the end of the world. This was to the point where I would stand on my parents’ bed with my knees literally knocking and tears running down my face because I thought it might be our last night on Earth. Any storm or loud wind or threat of inclement weather was the onset of the end times and I would flip out. But it was in these moments that my parents taught me the most about trusting God.

It was on one of these nights when my father said, “Katie, you just have to trust God.”
Psh…like that was going to help. “But daddy, God kills people in the Bible all the time!”
And this next phrase changed my life. “God will always give us what we need. We have to trust that whatever He decides is best IS the best and no matter what that means, we will be okay.”

These were the words of a man who had not had an easy life. Without sharing details of a life that is not mine, my dad had a unique childhood. And this was not many years after my parents lost their fourth child to SIDS at three-months. My dad put him down to sleep, let him cry it out for a while and in the morning, he was not breathing anymore. My mom is a labor and delivery nurse and going back to work with all those babies was very difficult for her, especially if the patient lost the baby during delivery.

If my parents could tell me to trust in a God who doesn’t guarantee us an easy life, when they knew exactly how hard life could get, then I would be stupid not to listen.

And my lesson continues to this day. Their faith did not waver when my mom’s dad died. Or when Jake has his first heart attack and open heart surgery in 2001 or when Jen was diagnosed with leukemia later that same year. Or when Jake was in a car accident and was flown to shock trauma. Or when Jes had her fifth miscarriage. Or when my dad’s mom and stepfather died in the same summer. Or when Jake died in 2010. Or every time we thought we were losing Jen because her doctors gave her weeks or months to live. Or when I told them about Luna and her many issues.

My parents trust in an all-powerful, eternal God who is sovereign in all things. How many of us say that God is omnipotent but have no idea what that really means? How many of us say that we trust God but have no idea what kind of faith that requires?

You could say that my faith in God is amazing, but mine pales in comparison to the faith I see demonstrated every day in the people around me. And more than that, my faith is only a fraction of what my God deserves.

6 thoughts on “All in the Family

  1. Beautiful, Katie. I am in awe of your family more each day for these reasons, that includes you. I know the Lord joined me to all of you amazingly faithful people to humbly learn how to trust and love Him and each other in everything and, especially, how to praise Him with a joyful heart in everything. Thanks for this and for everything! ❤

  2. Dearest Katie, I love you so much. Thank you for loving me so unconditionally. You make us sound so wonderful, but your Dad and I are just a couple of poor, old slobs trying to live our lives in the light of God. My faith was taught to me by my parents. They taught me to trust God in all things..(Thank you, Oa!!!) It has been a gift of grace that God renews in me every day.

    When I was young and stupid I thought we had the perfect family. We had just bought or first house, our first dog,and we had 4 wonderful children, 2 girls, 2 boys, the picture perfect family .I thought maybe we would stop here and not have anymore kids. Then God took Joshua home. That was when I learned

  3. Dearest Katie, I love you so much. Thank you for loving me so unconditionally. You make us sound so wonderful, but your Dad and I are just a couple of poor, old slobs trying to live our lives in the light of God. My faith was taught to me by my parents. They taught me to trust God in all things..(Thank you, Oa!!!) It has been a gift of grace that God renews in me every day. And some days its a struggle.

    When I was young and stupid I thought we had perfect family. We had just bought or first house, our first dog,and we had 4 wonderful children, 2 girls, 2 boys, the picture perfect family .I thought maybe we would stop here and not have anymore kids. Then God took Joshua home. That was when I learned to accept all of God’s gifts ’cause He knows best. And that’s when we were gifted with you and your younger brothers. I truly believe in placing my life in His hands and I am glad you learned that so well, but it is only by the grace of God.

    I have gone through life blindly believing in this faith but you embrace it with such purpose. I have learned so much from you. You are truly a woman of God.

  4. Amen! I am so happy that Patrick married you and your family.. I love your family like my own and am inspired by their faith and lheart for the things of God..Plus, they are just crazy good fun:-) God in His sovereignty placed you in your family, already knowing the trials you would face. He also placed Bo, MJ and Luna purposely with you.

  5. Thank you for sharing your story with us. It is a beautiful testimony. The statement that stood out to me today was “God will always give us what we need. We have to trust that whatever He decides is best IS the best and no matter what that means, we will be okay.” I really needed to hear that today. I was reading this morning in my Bible reading plan in Job and I came across the verse Job 10:10…”And you curdle me like cheese”. Now the title of your blog really makes sense to me.

  6. That was beautifully written and full of heart. I am amazed and thankful to have Jes in my life via Ian and always feel more at peace after spending time with your family.
    Sending my thoughts and love your way.

Leave a Reply

